Our mission is to bring recognition to practicing engineers for outstanding service to the engineering profession, to publicize the many benefits that the engineering profession provides to the Mobile Area, and to encourage the pursuit of a professional engineering career to future engineers. 


​A tradition since 1967, MACE was founded by practicing engineers from the local society engineering chapters. Those founders and other envisioned an organization that exchanged information specifically of interest to engineers practicing in the Mobile area. In addition, they saw the need to recognize their peers. Over time, MACE grew to include an annual award banquet.






Since 2002, The Mobile Area Council of Engineers has awarded scholarships to worthy students enrolled in engineering at the University of South Alabama. 


On March 20, 2002, the Mobile Area Council of Engineers (Mr. Dave Webber, President at the time) in conjunction with Dr. Wilford D. Raburn (Associate Dean of USA Engineering and MACE Member) jointly established the MACE/Raburn Engineering Scholarship. 


Two $1500 scholarships will be awarded to the most qualified students from a pool of applicants. To be eligible, the student must satisfy the following requirements:


  • Be in his/her sophomore year and be enrolled in an engineering at South Alabama 

  • Demonstrate Academic Achievement by accumalating a min. CGPA of 2.75

  • Professional work ethics, community, extra-curricular activities, and student organization involvement

  • Students who have received other financial scholarship assistance during the same academic semester shall not be eligible

  • A student who has previously been awarded the Dr. Wilford D. Raburn Engineering Scholarship shall not be eligible to reapply for said scholarship in the following years

  • Award amount will be applied to student's tuition and fees


Mark Norris, P.E., Hargrove Engineers + Constructors, CHAIRMAN

John Keahey, P.E., Project Design Group, Inc. (PDG), Treasurer

Ray Miller, P.E., Volkert Inc., Awards Selection Committee

Penny Hatcher, Southern Earth Sciences, Banquet /Awards Committee

Ashley Babb, APR, B Media Relations, LLC, Marketing/Digital Media

Amy Driskell, Hargrove Engineers + Constructors, Member at Large

Claudia Bjork, Ingalls, Member Organization Engagement Chair

Kayla Bray, Quincy Compressors, Sponsorships

Thad Hendrix, P.E., Dunn Building Co., Past Chairman

Barbara Turrens, P.E., Austal USA, Outreach

Nan Young Perez Uribe, Univ. of South Alabama Representative


American Society of Civil Engineers

Mobile Branch - ASCE

2nd Wednesday

Email: Amiee Williams, President


American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Gulf Coast Section - ASME

4th Tuesday

Email: Brian Healy, Chair

Alabama Society of Professional Engineers

Mobile Chapter - ASPE

1st Wednesday

Email: Ray Miller, President


Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers

Mobile Section - IEEE

3rd Tuesday

Email: Dr. Mohammad Alam, Chairman

International Society of Automation

Mobile Section - ISA

2nd Tuesday
Email: Bill Agerton, President


Society of American Military Engineers

Mobile Post - SAME

3rd Wednesday

Email: Jeff Duplantis, President

University of South Alabama

Engineering Student Council


Email: Dr. James Laier, Ph.D., P.E.

Assoc. Dean, College of Engineering


American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers


Email: Chris Stripling, Vice President

© 2020 Mobile Area Council of Engineers
Created by B Media Relations, LLC